A vital record is a legal document issued by government authorities which records life events about an individual.

There are four types of vital records:

  • Birth records
  • Death records
  • Marriage records
  • Divorce records

Some jurisdictions may also include records of civil unions or domestic partnerships.Vital records are typically maintained and issued by the county or the state where the event took place.

Next Post