Real ID Compliant States: Full List

Last updated May 15th, 2023

The terrorist attacks that took place on September 11th, 2001, led the U.S. Congress to create and establish several new laws to protect the country. One of the laws that came into existence as a result of the attacks is the REAL ID Act.

What is the REAL ID Act? Under the REAL ID Act, minimum security standards for the issuance and production of licenses and state identification cards were put in place. If these minimum standards are not met, federal agencies are prohibited from allowing entrance.

As of May 7th, 2025, U.S. citizens and residents must have a REAL ID-compliant license or ID card to enter federal facilities, board commercial aircraft and enter nuclear power plants.

What are the requirements to get a REAL ID?

In the case that you do not have a Real ID yet, there are a few steps you can follow to get it. The following are the requirements to get a Real ID.

  • Make an appointment to visit a DMV field office
  • After you have scheduled your appointment, be sure to bring the following:
    • Proof of identity, such as a certified copy of the birth certificate, employment authorization document, U.S. passport, permanent resident card or foreign passport with an approved I-94 form
    • Present proof of your Social Security Number
    • Show proof of residency document: lease agreement, mortgage bill etc.
  • Pay for the respective fee according to your state

What is Real ID compliant?

Real ID compliant identification is marked with a gold star. This makes it easier for federal workers to tell the difference between compliant and non-compliant ID cards and licenses. Nonetheless, a few states have issued IDs without the gold star.

In order to receive a Real ID, it is necessary to show proof of identity, such as a birth certificate, proof of social security number, proof of address, and proof of all legal name changes. You will need to provide original or government-issued copies of all your documents. For instance, your birth certificate must be a certified copy.

The Real ID does not impact your ability to drive, vote, or purchase items that require identification. The Real ID is necessary to enter a power plant, access federal facilities, visit military bases or board commercial flights.

As of September 2020 every state is REAL ID-compliant. The alternative to a REAL ID are a U.S. passport or a U.S. passport card.

List of Real ID Compliant States

Real ID Compliant states include the following (latest update: December 16, 2022):

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Washington, D.C.
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

States that have been granted an extension are:

  • Alaska
  • California
  • Illinois
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • New Jersey
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island

This is also the case for most US overseas territories. However, at present, American Samoa is still yet to be fully Real ID compliant

And finally, here is a comprehensive table including their status:

State Real ID status
Alabama In compliance
Alaska In compliance
Arizona In compliance
Arkansas In compliance
California In compliance
Colorado In compliance
Connecticut In compliance
Delaware In compliance
District of Columbia In compliance
Florida In compliance
Georgia In compliance
Hawaii In compliance
Idaho In compliance
Illinois In compliance
Indiana In compliance
Iowa In compliance
Kansas In compliance
Kentucky In compliance
Louisiana In compliance
Maine In compliance
Maryland In compliance
Massachusetts In compliance
Michigan In compliance
Minnesota In compliance
Mississippi In compliance
Missouri In compliance
Montana In compliance
Nebraska In compliance
Nevada In compliance
New Hampshire In compliance
New Jersey In compliance
New Mexico In compliance
New York In compliance
North Carolina In compliance
North Dakota In compliance
Ohio In compliance
Oklahoma In compliance
Oregon In compliance
Pennsylvania In compliance
Rhode Island In compliance
South Carolina In compliance
South Dakota In compliance
Tennessee In compliance
Texas In compliance
Utah In compliance
Vermont In compliance
Virginia In compliance
Washington In compliance
West Virginia In compliance
Wisconsin In compliance
Wyoming In compliance